ECE Groups

ECE Rating

The UNECE stands for the The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, and they have set out to create a uniform set of regulations for the Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations, and this inturn facilitates International Trade. One of the Regulations they cover, is the approval of Child Safety Seats (both forward and rearward facing seats) for the use in vehicles. These regulations are known as the ECE R44, and the current revision of this regulation is the ECE R44.03 and ECE R44.04. So child restraint systems constructed, tested and approved in accordance with ECE Regulation 44/03 or 44/04, can bear the ECE test mark. There are 52 countries as of 2006 that participate in the ECE agreement, South Africa being one of these countries, and our ECE country code is 47.

The ECE standard differentiates between five different weight groups:

Group 0 (up to 10 kg, up to approx. 9 months),

Group 0+ (up to 13 kg, up to approx. 15 months),

Group I (9 to 18 kg; from approx. 9 months to 4.5 years),

Group II (15 to 25 kg; from approx. 3 to 7 years)

Group III (22 to 36 kg; from approx. 6 to 12 years).

All RECARO child car seats are tested and approved to the ECE child safety standards. A seat that passes the ECE regulations will bear an ECE lable. The lable will indicate the category and the weight group the seat has been approved for. Whether the seat has a 5 point harness, the version of ECE rating and the country in Europe where the ECE approval was obtained (As RECARO seats are tested in Germany, they are E1 rated).